Check out our three new databases listed below! Provided by the Potter-Tioga Library System.

Navigation:
Smart Topic:

Consumer Health Complete
Looking for reliable health information? Need information, but have little time to search for it? Consumer Health Complete is the most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content available today. It provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. You Can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles.
 

Databases

 

HeritageQuest Online (use your library barcode to access) is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids.

18th Century or 20th Century. European or Native American. Farm or Factory. East Coast or West Coast. Where does your American past begin? Discover the amazing history of you with HeritageQuest Online. It delivers an essential collection of genealogical and historical sources—with coverage dating back to the 1700s—that can help people find their ancestors and discover a place's past.

The collection consists of six core data sets: U.S. Federal Censuses, Genealogy and local history books, Periodical Source Index (PERSI), Revolutionary War records, Freedman's Bank Records, and LexisNexis U.S. Serial Set.

This database is provided by the Potter-Tioga Library System.

Link has been restored as of 2/6/2012. If you have any problems, please call the library.


Learning Express Library contains online interactive courses and practice tests. No tuition costs, no scheduling, no traveling, no classes to attend, just learning — when you want it, where you want it. Learning Express Library even includes many free online e-books.

The Learning Express Library provides practice tests and tutorial courses designed to help you succeed academically or conplete licensing tests, such as a CDL. You will get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results. Your success is just a few minutes away.

Click here for available subject areas.


Instructions:
1. Click on the Learning Express Library link or icon
2. First time users: create a username and password (new registrations may need to use your library barcode as the username)
3. Start the course or test of your choice

 


Pop Culture Universe (use your library card to access) presents pop culture and history through an academic lens, providing insights into society that will engage students' minds and support their research projects. The Idea Exchange section features informative, scholarly essays on topics that often serve as the basis for a community college or undergraduate writing assignments.

This database is provided by the Potter-Tioga Library System.

   


Ask Here PA - We're here to help you get answers to your questions, any time and anywhere you have Internet access. Unlike other "expert" sites on the Web, there is no charge to use our service. We'll be doing what libraries have always done best -- quickly getting you the accurate, unbiased information you need. Available 24/7.

 


Health eLinksFind quick answers to your health and wellness needs for you and your family using this colorful, informative and easy to use resource.  No login needed. Start Here

 


Annals of American History

 Discover the backbone of American history, society, and culture with Annals of American History Online. This valuable online chronicle provides a year-by-year documentary of American thought, action, and daily life. Read the original words of more than 1,500 authors who made and analyzed American history through speeches, writings, and interviews.

 Annals of American History Online is organized by time, subject, and author to allow students to learn the relationships between important events and issues. It is ideal for research as well as thought-provoking discussions and debates.

 


Britannica Online

This valuable online source comes in two versions: Britannica Online Reference Center and Britannica Online for Kids.

The adult edition includes information from the reliable, authoritative source, Encyclopædia Britannica, with all of the articles in the print set, plus a dictionary, world atlas, notable quotations, current magazine and journal articles, and live news feeds.

The other version is for elementary, middle, and high school students.  It includes two encyclopedias, a dictionary, interactive timelines, world atlas, video clips for school projects, age-appropriate magazine articles, recommended websites, and live news feeds.


AtoZMapsOnline (use your library card to access -- barcode is case sensitive) includes 146,000+ maps of the world, continents, countries, states, provinces, climates, earthquakes, volcanoes, weather, hurricanes, geology, animals & plants, and mORE. The world’s most useful online map database. AtoZMapsOnline is the only product that combines such a large database of static, animated, real-time, scientific, and antique maps in one easy-to-access place.

This database is provided by the Potter-Tioga Library System.

 


Global Road Warrior (use your library card to access -- barcode is case sensitive) covers 175 countries and addresses 22 categories of interest to travelers, including business culture, communications, demographics, money and banking, points of interest, security, society and culture, tips for businesswomen, transportation, and travel essentials. It also includes maps and photographs. The database is also great to help students, when they have to do research on a country.

This database is provided by the Potter-Tioga Library System.

 


World Book Online (click here -- now working correctly!) includes the following:

World Book Online for KidsWorld Book Online for Kids

Easy-to-read articles, multimedia, games, science projects, interactive tools, and activities for young readers.

World Book Online Info Finder World Book Online Info Finder

Reference content plus science fair projects, a Biography Center, links to world newspapers, 21st century research guides, and much more.

World Book Online Reference Center World Book Online Reference Center

This site offers encyclopedic content as well as computer and Web tutorials, government resources, e-books, and primary source documents.

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos This site offers World Book’s excellent editorial content, rich media, and engaging features in Spanish.